Anguilla

Basic facts

Population: 15,700 (2013 estimate)

Land area: 96 km²

Exclusive economic zone: 92,178 km²

Listing as a Non-Self-Governing Territory

Anguilla has been on the United Nations list of Non-Self-Governing Territories since 1946, following the transmission of information on the **Leeward Islands** (which had included Anguilla) by the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland under Article 73 *e* of the Charter of the United Nations.

See: General Assembly resolution 66 (I) of 14 December 1946

Administering Power

United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland

United Nations-related action

The General Assembly adopts on an annual basis a resolution with a section specifically devoted to Anguilla.

See: General Assembly resolution 69/105 A-B of 5 December 2014

Most recent United Nations Secretariat annual Working Paper on Anguilla: <u>A/AC.109/2015/14</u>

Links

Government of Anguilla

Foreign and Commonwealth Office of the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland